1920-25 Gurudwara Reform Movement marked the struggle of the Sikhs to wrest control of their places of worship from the mahants (priests) into whose hands they had passed during the 18th century when the Sikhs were driven away from their homes to seek safety in remote hills and deserts.

Shiromani Gurdwara Prabhandak Committe

The inaugural meeting of the SGPC - Akal Takht Amritsar on 12 December 1920.

It appointed a subcommittee to draft the Committee`s constitution.

Sardar Sundar Singh Majithia
Harbans Singh
Sundar Singh Ramgarhia

New elections under the constitution were held in July 1921

Elected President
Baba Kharak Singh
Elected Vice-President
Captain Ram Singh
Elected Secretary
Sardar Bahadur. Mehtab Singh

In 1922 - Sikh Gurdwaras and Shrines Act, 1922

Movement Related with SGPC

- Guru Ka Bagh Morcha (Ghukkevali village, District Amritsar)

- Jaito Morcha

- Shaheed Bhagat Singh 'Khatkar Kalan' in present SBS Nagar (Nawanshehr)

- Shaheed Sukhdev

- Shaheed Rajguru in Maharastra

Punjab After 1947

Patiala and East Punjab States Union (PEPSU) was a state of India between 1948 and 1956

PEPSU was union of eight princely states

Patiala, Jind, Nabha, Kapurthala, Faridkot, Kalsia, Malerkotla and Nalagarh

PEPSU made in 15 july 1948
Raj Parmukh of PEPSU
Maharaja Yadvinder Singh
First CM of PEPSU
Gian Singh Rarewala
PEPSU Capital
PEPSU Vdhan Shaba Memeber

Note - In 1 Nov 1956 PEPSU Merge in Punjab and New state created Himachal Pardesh

Formation of Present Punjab

Master Dara Singh Pointed Demand of Present Punjab

Punjab Boundary Commission 1966 (Reorganization of Punjab): An Act to provide for the reorganisation of the existing State of Punjab and for matters connected therewith

Head of Commission
Fazal Ali